Local News

2019 NT Brolga Awards


What do a Chocolate Factory, a Bird Specialist and a Camel Tour have in common? They have all taken top prizes at the prestigious 2019 NT Brolga Awards recognising tourism excellence.

A total of 29 businesses and two individuals were winners at the 2019 Brolga Awards, which has now been running for 33 years, celebrating the Territory’s best products and individual contributions.

The Jawoyn Association, joint management partners of the majestic Nitmiluk National Park, took home the night’s highest honour, the Tourism Minister’s Perpetual Trophy.

The Jawoyn’s sharing of their country since it was handed back to them in 1989 is an outstanding example of local people managing their lands, protecting their culture and delivering sustainable Aboriginal tourism in a way that will benefit generations to come.

The Brolga Awards celebrate the hard work and dedication shown by our NT tourism operators and businesses over the past 12 months and create a standard in tourism merit for others to aspire to.

Nitmiluk National Park won the Brolga for best Major Tourist Attraction and the 2018 Darwin Festival won the Major Festivals and Events category, both for the second year running.

The Skal Tourism Employee Award went to Dean Lambert, a Central Australian tour guide who has been working in the industry for 30 years, with a passion for the Outback.

The George Dunne Award Outstanding Contribution by an Individual went to Grant Whan, who has also been in the industry for approximately 30 years. Grant’s current role involves assisting a range of tourism businesses with their development needs.

The 22 business category winners will now represent the Northern Territory at the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards in March 2020.


Image: 2019 NT Brolgas Tourism Minister's Perpetual Trophy Winner - Chair Jawoyn Association and Nitmiluk Tours, Lisa Mumbin. Credit: Chloe Erlich